زيارة ليزلي أورديمان، نائب رئيس البعثة في السفارة الأمريكية لدى ليبيا، إلى طرابلس

قام ليزلي أورديمان، نائب رئيس البعثة في السفارة الأمريكية، برفقة ممثل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في ليبيا، جون بينيل، بزيارة طرابلس لعقد اجتماعات مع المفوضية الوطنية العليا للانتخابات ووزارة الداخلية والمجتمع المدني ومجموعات مراقبة الانتخابات لمناقشة دعم الولايات المتحدة للانتخابات.

كما التقى نائب رئيس البعثة أورديمان بوزير النفط والغاز محمد عون في مقر الوزارة لمناقشة السبل التي يمكن أن تتعاون بها الولايات المتحدة والشركات الأمريكية من أجل تعزيز قطاع الطاقة الليبي.

وفي اجتماعات مختلفة ركزت على الاستعدادات لانتخابات 24 ديسمبر، أشار نائب رئيس البعثة أورديمان إلى دعم الولايات المتحدة لإجراء انتخابات حرة ونزيهة لدعم خارطة طريق منتدى الحوار السياسي الليبي، ولتلبية توقعات الشعب الليبي. وأضاف: “لا ينبغي لأي حكومة أجنبية أن تختار الحكومة الليبية المقبلة، فهذا حق ومسؤولية الشعب الليبي. وفي هذا الصدد، نأمل أن نرى موسمًا الحملات يبدأ قريبًا بحيث يمكن للأحزاب وأولئك الذين يأملون في الترشح لمنصب الرئاسة تحديد خططهم لتقديم خدمات مناسبة أفضل للشعب الليبي بما في ذلك النمو الاقتصادي وتحسين توصيل الكهرباء والاستجابة الفعالة لجائحة فيروس كورونا، إلى جانب مجالات أخرى “.

بالإضافة إلى الدعم الدبلوماسي للانتخابات المقرر إجراؤها في 24 ديسمبر، تقدم الولايات المتحدة مساعدة فنية كبيرة من خلال الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية. وحتى الآن، درّبت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية أكثر من 2000 مراقب محلي للانتخابات هم الآن على أتمّ الاستعداد لمراقبة الانتخابات الوطنية للتأكد من أنها شفافة ونزيهة. وتتمتع هذه المجموعات بخبرة قيّمة من مراقبة العديد من الانتخابات على مستوى البلديات في السنوات الأخيرة.

كما قامت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية بتدريب أكثر من 100 منظمة من منظمات المجتمع المدني، من خلال الشراكات التي ساعدت النساء والشباب والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وغيرهم من الفئات المحرومة على المشاركة في العملية السياسية. وتضمنت زيارة اليوم لقاءً مع ستة من ممثلي المجتمع المدني لمناقشة السبل التي يمكن للسفارة الأمريكية والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية / ليبيا من خلالها مواصلة دعمهم وضمان سماع أصوات متنوعة.

كما قام كلّ من نائب رئيس البعثة أورديمان وممثل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في ليبيا، جون بينيل، بزيارة المركز الإعلامي للمفوضية الوطنية العليا للانتخابات الذي تم تجديده حديثًا. وكان تصميم وتجديد المركز الإعلامي ممكنًا بفضل الشراكة مع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية / ليبيا لدعم العمل الحيوي للمفوضية.

Visit to Tripoli of Leslie Ordeman, Deputy Chief of Mission in US Embassy Libya

Today Leslie Ordeman the U.S. Embassy’s Deputy Chief of Mission, accompanied by USAID Libya Representative John Pennell visited Tripoli for meetings with HNEC, the Ministry of the Interior, and civil society and election observation groups to discuss US support for elections.

DCM Ordeman also met Minister of Oil and Gas Mohamed Aoun at the Ministry’s headquarters in order to discuss ways that the United States and American companies can collaborate in order to strengthen Libya’s energy sector.

In various meetings focused on preparations for the December 24th elections, DCM Ordeman noted U.S. support for free and fair elections in support of the LPDF roadmap, and to meet the expectations of the Libyan people. He added, “no foreign government should choose the next government of Libya, which is the right and responsibility of the Libyan people. In this regard we hope to see a campaign season begin soon in which parties and those hoping to run for office can outline their plans for delivering improved services for the Libyan people including economic growth, improved electricity delivery, and effective response to the Covid-19 pandemic, among other areas.”

In addition to diplomatic support for elections scheduled on December 24, the United States is providing significant technical assistance through the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID). To date, USAID has trained over 2,000 domestic elections observers who are now prepared to observe national elections to ensure they are transparent and fair. These groups have valuable expertise from monitoring numerous municipal-level elections in recent years.

USAID has also trained over 100 civil society organizations, through partnerships that have helped women, youth, persons with disabilities, and other disadvantaged people participate in the political process. Today’s visit included a meeting with six civil society representatives to discuss ways in which the U.S. Embassy and USAID/Libya can continue to support them and ensure that diverse voices are heard.

DCM Ordeman and USAID Libya Representative Pennell also visited the HNEC’s newly renovated Media Center. The design and refurbishment of the Media Center was possible thanks to a partnership with USAID/Libya in support of the HNEC’s vital work.