الولايات المتحدة تقدم 4 ملايين دولار إضافية للاستجابة العاجلة لكوفيد -19 في ليبيا

للنشر الفوري
5 نوفمبر 2021
تقدم الولايات المتحدة – من خلال الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية – 4 ملايين دولار كمساعدة إضافية لـمجابهة COVID-19 في ليبيا. سيوفر هذا التمويل الجديد المساعدة الفنية والمعدات والإمدادات لدعم خطة نشر التلقيح الوطنية الليبية والتخفيف من انتشار COVID-19.

“يسعدنا أن نكون قادرين على العمل بالشراكة مع الحكومة الليبية والشعب الليبي للاستجابة لهذا الوباء العالمي غير المسبوق وتعزيز قدرات الاستجابة اللازمة لمنع الأزمات المستقبلية أو التخفيف من حدتها.” مدير بعثة الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية جون بينيل.

هذه المساعدة الإضافية من خطة الإنقاذ الأمريكية التاريخية ترفع مساهمة الولايات المتحدة لمكافحة COVID-19 في ليبيا إلى أكثر من 20 مليون دولار من الاعتمادات العادية والتكميلية منذ بداية الوباء. لقد دعمت هذه المساعدة الحكومة الليبية والمجتمع المدني للاستجابة لاحتياجات الصحة العامة العاجلة، وتقديم المساعدة الطارئة للمجتمعات الأكثر ضعفًا في ليبيا ، ودعم الانتعاش الاقتصادي في ليبيا.

تستند هذه الجهود إلى التزام الولايات المتحدة طويل الأمد للعمل في شراكة مع البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم لمعالجة الأزمات الصحية العالمية. على مدار الستين عامًا الماضية، قدمت الولايات المتحدة مليارات الدولارات من المساعدات الخارجية في جميع أنحاء العالم لمكافحة أمراض مثل الإيبولا وفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز والسل والملاريا والآن COVID-19.

لا تزال الولايات المتحدة ملتزمة بالشراكة مع ليبيا لإنهاء جائحة COVID-19، والاستجابة لآثارها الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، وإعادة بناء عالم أكثر استعدادًا لحالات الطوارئ الصحية في المستقبل.

United States Provides Additional $4 Million for Urgent COVID-19 Response in Libya

For Immediate Release
November 5, 2021

The United States—through the United States Agency for International Development—is providing $4 million in additional COVID-19 assistance for Libya. This new funding will provide technical assistance, equipment, and supplies to support Libya’s National Vaccine and Deployment plan and mitigate the spread of COVID-19. 

“We are pleased to be able to work in partnership with the Libyan government and Libyan people to respond to this unprecedented global pandemic and strengthen the response capacities needed to forestall or mitigate future crises.” USAID Mission Director John Pennell.

This additional assistance from the historic American Rescue Plan brings the U.S. contribution to combat COVID-19 in Libya to more than $20 million from regular and supplemental appropriations since the start of the pandemic. This assistance has supported the Libyan government and civil society to respond to immediate public health needs, provide emergency assistance to Libya’s most vulnerable communities, and support Libya’s economic recovery.

These efforts build on longstanding U.S. commitment to work in partnership with countries around the globe to tackle global health crises. Over the past 60 years, the U.S. has provided billions of dollars in foreign assistance across the globe to combat diseases such as Ebola, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, and now COVID-19.

The U.S. remains committed to partnering with Libya to end the COVID-19 pandemic, respond to its social and economic impacts, and build back a world that is even better prepared for future health emergencies.

Link: https://www.usaid.gov/libya/program-updates/nov-2021-united-states-provides-additional-4-million-urgent-covid-19-response-libya