الولايات المتحدة تفرض عقوبات على مواطن ليبي وميليشيا ذات صلة بانتهاكات جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان في ليبيا

وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية
مكتب المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية
للنشر الفوري 27 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020

فرضت الولايات المتحدة يوم الأربعاء عقوبات على محمد الكاني وميليشيا الكانيات لصلتهم بمقتل مئات المدنيين في السنوات الأخيرة. لقد تم إدراج محمد الكاني وميليشيا الكانيات التي يقودها على لائحة العقوبات بموجب الأمر التنفيذي رقم 13818 الذي يبني على قانون ماغنيتسكي الدولي للمساءلة حول حقوق الإنسان وينفذه ويستهدف الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان وممارسات الفساد. شنت ميليشيا الكانيات حملة من أعمال العنف غير القانونية في منطقة طرابلس، وكان ذلك قبل الهدنة الفعلية التي تم التوصل إليها في ليبيا في حزيران/يونيو 2020 وبينما كانت متحالفة مع ما يسمى بالجيش الوطني الليبي في العامين 2019 و2020 في هجومه العسكري ضد العاصمة الليبية. وبعد انتهاء الهجوم على طرابلس، عاودت القوات الموالية لحكومة الوفاق الوطني الليبية الدخول إلى مدينة ترهونة واكتشفت ما لا يقل عن 11 مقبرة جماعية تضم جثثا لمدنيين سبق أن احتجزتهم ميليشيا الكانيات، بما في ذلك جثث نساء وأطفال وشيوخ. وأشارت التقارير إلى تعرض البعض من القتلى للتعذيب والحرق والدفن أحياء. ولا يزال يتم انتشال الجثث من مقابر جماعية أخرى بعد مرور أشهر.

حددت الحكومة الأمريكية بتاريخ 13 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر ضرورة إدراج الكاني وميليشيا الكانيات على لائحة العقوبات بموجب قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1970 الخاص بليبيا، ولكننا مستائين جدا من أن روسيا منعت إدراج الجهات المقترحة، وبخاصة بالنظر إلى انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الموثقة جيدا. لا يؤدي التعنت الروسي إلا إلى تعزيز حاجة المجتمع الدولي إلى السعي إلى المساءلة ووضع حد للإفلات من العقاب، وقد أدى ذلك إلى تأجيج الصراع في ليبيا.

لا نزال نشعر بالقلق إزاء محاولة الجهات الفاعلة الليبية والخارجية تقويض الاستقرار في ليبيا وجهود الأمم المتحدة للسلام، بما في ذلك منتدى الحوار السياسي الليبي. وتواصل الولايات المتحدة دعم بعثة تقصي الحقائق الدولية وعملية برلين، بما في ذلك فريق العمل المعني بالقانون الإنساني الدولي وحقوق الإنسان، والسلطات الليبية العاملة في ترهونة لمعالجة قضايا المفقودين.

تظهر عمليات الإدراج هذه أن الولايات المتحدة تأخذ إجراءات ملموسة للرد على الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان التي تساهم في تقويض السلام والأمن والاستقرار في ليبيا.

The United States Sanctions Libyan Individual and Militia Connected to Serious Human Rights Abuse in Libya

PRESS STATEMENT
MICHAEL R. POMPEO, SECRETARY OF STATE
NOVEMBER 27, 2020

On Wednesday, the United States imposed sanctions on Mohamed al-Kani and the Kaniyat militia in connection with the massacre of hundreds of civilians in recent years. Al-Kani and the Kaniyat militia, which al-Kani leads, are designated pursuant to Executive Order 13818, which builds upon and implements the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act, and targets serious human rights abuse and corruption. Prior to a de facto truce in Libya reached in June 2020 and while aligned in 2019-2020 with the self-styled Libyan National Army (LNA) offensive against the Libyan capital, the Kaniyat militia conducted a campaign of extrajudicial violence in the Tripoli region. Following the end of the Tripoli offensive, Libyan Government of National Accord-aligned forces re-entered the town of Tarhouna and discovered at least 11 mass graves containing the bodies of civilians previously detained by the Kaniyat militia – the bodies included those of women, children, and the elderly. Some of the deceased reportedly appeared to have been tortured, burned, or buried alive. Months later, bodies are still being recovered from additional mass graves.

The U.S. Government nominated al-Kani and the Kaniyat militia to the UN Security Council’s 1970 Libya Sanctions List on November 13. We are deeply disappointed that Russia blocked the proposed designations, especially in light of the well documented human rights violations. Russian intransigence only reinforces the need for the international community to seek accountability and end impunity, which has fueled the conflict in Libya.

We remain concerned about Libyan and external actors working to undermine stability in Libya and UN peace efforts, including the Libyan Political Dialogue Forum. The United States continues to support the international fact-finding mission; the Berlin Process, including its International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights Working Group; and Libyan authorities working in Tarhouna to address cases of missing persons.

These designations show that the United States will take concrete actions in response to serious human rights abuse which contributes to the undermining of Libya’s peace, security, and stability.